The world COTY award goes back to 2005, with judges from all around the world voting. Of course, any decision reached is based on their opinions but at least have jurors from all corners of the world gives it a broader consensus. Local bias is not a factor. A quick look at previous winners first:

2005: Audi A6
2006: BMW 3-Series
2007: Lexus LS400
2008: Mazda Demio (Mazda 2)
2009: VW Golf
2010: VW Polo
2011: Nissan Leaf
2012: VW Up!
2013: VW Golf
2014: Audi A3
2015: Mercedes C-Class
2016 Mazda MX-5

Eight German and four Japanese brands in all. VW with four gongs, Mazda and Audi two each. Now for the 2017 year.

Luxury Car: Mercedes E-Class
Performance Car: Porsche Boxter/Cayman
Green Car: Toyota Prius Prime
Urban Car: BMW i3
Car Design of the Year: Jaguar F-Pace

World Car of the Year 2017:

Jaguar F-Pace.

The Jaguar F-Pace took two awards, the best design and best overall. Well deserved I say and a different nation contributing adds variety. Now would that be the UK or India?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here